the black card.

19 05 2010

The Centurion Card (aka: the black card) is offered by American Express.

It is a card with unlimited spending capacity.

According to Wikipedia (a very reliable source -haha) the “black card” is issued by invitation only.

Once invited, an individual must pay a $5,000 initiation fee as well as $2,500 annually.

Wow.

$5,000, just to use a card?
Doesn’t seem worth it, does it?

Not really.
I love the idea of being financially successful enough to merit an invitation to the club – but I don’t know if I would actually want one.

Although – today a customer came in a made a large purchase with one (by the way, they are now titanium based, a little thicker and heavier). I enjoyed holding it and my mind instantly thought of the power behind it. Oh man!

I know we aren’t supposed to seek after riches –

“For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.” (1 Timothy 6:10)

But – I’m definitely seeking after the means to have NO debt and be self-sufficient – oh and I’d love to be able to do a little traveling!

When those are satisfied – I’ll rest a little easier.

? What are you seeking after money for?

Actions

Information

9 responses

19 05 2010
Angela

Self-sufficiency of course but mostly to be able to afford a few adoptions…I could use some additional noise over at this place! (Yeah I’m nuts)

19 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I LOVE that you said that! I have always thought it would be wonderful to adopt several kids as well!

19 05 2010
Kailynn

This house stuff is adding up quickly and we could sure use more money to get ready for this baby!

20 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

oh yeah I bet the house stuff adds up quick! one trip to ikea can run you out! haha plus we need to get you guys some more exercise equipment up in there! I need to come back to play call of duty!!! haha

20 05 2010
Melanie

ok, I’ll admit I have one of these guys and I LOVE the perks I get from owning it–it more than makes up for the annual fee

20 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

that is SO awesome! oh man, when I held the card I must admit I was pretty envious! Haha!

24 05 2010
Anthony Ambriz

Did you miss me?
I know I missed reading the blog. I changed gmail accounts and have been trying to update my Google Reader, so I missed out on a lot. Anyways…

I would love a Black Card just cause Hip Hop artist all have one. The Black Card is Hip Hop. ha ha. No, not really…

I always wonder how credit card companies start?

I seek after money to invest it. I invest it on materials/resources to create new and exciting things for others to enjoy. I invest it on things that can inspire me to also create things. And last but not least I invest it on some R&R for myself, family, and friends.

My philosophy on money is spend it, because its sort of worthless. Yeah, save for emergencies but I think of it has plan for an emergency. I sometimes wonder if in a real emergency I’ll even use money? I guess I can use it to start a fire or wipe my, but you know…

25 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I like where your head is at…
Part of me wonders when we start to get close to the 2nd coming how valuable money will actually be.
I think at that point, food storage and other materials will prove to be more valuable actually. haha

but yeah, black card and hip-hop? definitely go together! haha

26 05 2010
Charis Aldous

You can buy anything in this world with a centurion card!

Where have I heard this before?

Leave a Reply

