can’t sleep.

6 05 2010

Yep.

I’m awake.
I’m sitting here at 1:45 am and beginning todays post.

I can’t sleep.

It could be the 4-hour nap I took today…. Umm, maybe.

OR – it could be that I can’t shut my mind off right now.

But it’s ok – I’m only following the counsel given in the scriptures:

“Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober.” (1 Thessalonians 5:6)

I’m not sleeping.
I’m watching The Office.
I’m sober.

3 for 3.

However – I’m also disobeying the counsel of another scripture:

“…retire to thy bed early, that ye may not be weary…” (D&C 88:124)

Oh well, you can’t win them all, right?
(Although I may have taken the first scripture out of context, maybe)

I hate it when I can’t turn my brain off enough to fall asleep. I just lay there running over things in my mind – over and over and over and over

?  How do you finally get to sleep when you’re having trouble falling asleep?

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 05 2010
Holly

I have that problem all the time. This sounds dumb, partly because it seems too simple but get up and get a drink of water and then go back to bed. Jonny gave me that advice a few years ago and it really helps, most of the time. Another tip is to imagine yourself in one of your favorite places and imagine everything about it- the sights, sounds, smells. It helps you relax.

7 05 2010
kylekealohaaldous

I tried it last night!
It worked!
Although it might have also helped that it was after 3 am! hahaha
Maybe next time I should try it sooner!

Leave a Reply

