Do unto others..

3 05 2010

Do unto others grandparents as you would have others do unto yours.

I’ve spent a lot of today helping grandma get a bunch of stuff done around the house. It’s been a pleasure working with her and helping out as much as possible. I have loved spending time with her.

I wish I could come down once a week to help and to talk and just spend time with her.

For years I have listened to President Monson give talks about the widows he has helped over the years. I never really understood the difference it makes in the life of someone who has lost a loved one.

I feel such a huge desire to do better about spending time with some of the older (not old!) people wherever I end up living.

I HATE the idea of my grandma hauling bags of mulch across the yard in 96 degree weather. And I know there are grandmothers and others in general who need help or just someone to talk to.

I want to do for them what I wish I could always do for all of my grandparents.

I know grandma is grateful to have me here, but I have gotten more from this time with her than she could ever realize.

“when ye are in the service of your fellow beings, ye are only in the service of your God…” (Mosiah 2:17)

? When was the last time you spent time with someone “older”?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

