a cut above the rest.

25 04 2010

I’m now in Portland, Oregon for  the second leg of my Tour de Wasson.

We are visiting her grandparents, Bill and Mariah.

Before I tell this story, let me just begin by saying I LOVE this couple. SO much. I clicked with them instantly and hope to continue to build a wonderful friendship with them during the years to come.

At breakfast Mariah asked me if I enjoyed change.

I embrace it,” I replied. Haha

Then it began.

Someone doesn’t ask you about change unless they are going to follow up with what they feel you need to change, right?

RIGHT!

We started at the top obviously, with my HAIR! Great. It was inevitable.

Then we worked through my general appearance:  Unprofessional. Unkept. Untidy.

When someone describes you using “un” words, it will never work out in your favor.

The basic summary of the critique of my appearance was that I looked “average” when in fact I should look a “cut above the rest“.

Here’s how I looked that day:

Obviously I laughed, cracked a few jokes and said of course you’re totally right…

Inside my head I said: LAME!!! You want me to look like every other cookie cutter businessman out there.

Weak! Why would I want to do that?

I wore a mohawk at one time for a reason. I don’t want to be like everybody else. Please NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know she only had good intentions – BUT, really?

Oh and did I mention she was going to call her husbands barber to come to the house that morning for an emergency hair removal?

Nice.

It never happened. Thanks Leah! Although I would have gone along with it if she had called. (Let’s not forget my unyielding desire to gain approval from everyone this trip)

Do you know who stood out from the crowd with his appearance?

Joseph.

“Now Israel loved Joseph more than all his other children because he was the son of his old age; and he made him a coat of many colors.” (Genesis 37:3)

Do you remember what happened to Joseph next?

He was thrown in a pit and sold into slavery by his brothers!

That’s what happens when you stand out “a cut above the rest“.

Just kidding. Or am I?

?  What’s the craziest thing you have done to make yourself stand out from others in appearance?

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 04 2010
Mandi C.

Kyle,

I’m sorry. I work in a bank and have for years. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOUR HAIR. It is not unkempt or unprofessional. You look great. Leah is a babe. Old people have experience and wisdom but in this case, the dont know what they are talking about.

best of luck

29 04 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Thank-you Amanda!!!! I know, right!!
You living in Utah still??

28 04 2010
ashley

i chopped off my luxurious locks…

29 04 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Ashley you’re short locks look great!!!

And now I’ve joined you : )

Leave a Reply

