countdown.

16 04 2010

Countdowns are typically associated with fun positive events such as:

New Years Eve

Christmas

Birthdays

Summer Vacation

However, sometimes we countdown to events neither fun, nor positive such as:

Tests

Dentists Appts. (I had a lot of cavities as a kid)

The end of summer vacation

Death sentence (never experienced it, but I can imagine it’s bad)

This week I have been counting down to meeting Leah’s parents.

Tomorrow is the day.

And although I know I’m not headed to my death (well….), I’m also not headed into Christmas.

So, tomorrow will be somewhere in between.

I’m just not sure whether it will be closer to death or a holiday.

Has meeting the parents always been like this?

Yes..

And no.

Jacob met Rachel at a well and fell in love.

“And Jacob kissed Rachel, and lifted up his voice…” (Genesis 29:11)

Jacob went to meet the parents and ended up having to work 7 years for Rachel, only to find out he had been tricked and was given the younger daughter Leah. He then works another 7 years before finally he gets to marry Rachel.

14 years of working to get his bride.

I’m pretty sure I won’t have to face that… Anyways, I want Leah so I guess I’d only be working 7 years!

Nephi and his brothers had it easy. They showed up in Jerusalem, picked up Ishmael and his daughters and boom:

“… I, Nephi took one of the daughters of Ishmael to wife…” (1 Nephi 16:7)

Hhmm. I doubt it will be that easy…

I guess it’s somewhere in between…

I’ll find out tomorrow… and then you’ll find out.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2010
Tweets that mention countdown. « Justified by the Scriptures -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kyle Aldous. Kyle Aldous said: countdown post….. meeting the parents tomorrow! http://wp.me/pShSD-2i […]

16 04 2010
Melanie

you’ll survive..it’ll be FUN!

Leave a Reply

