the testaments.

13 04 2010

Just got back from teaching seminary…

If only this could be my full time job.

We are in 3rd Nephi right now and have been talking for the past couple of weeks about the Savior’s visit to the people in the Americas. I decided that we would take a couple days to watch a video called The Testaments: Of One Fold and One Shepherd.

This is one of the best movies the Church has produced. (Although it doesn’t take much to beat some of those old 80’s seminary movies – haha) The Church is taking the production of media more seriously and as a result we are being blessed with high quality films that do a wonderful job of inviting the spirit.

If you haven’t seen this in awhile I recommend you watch it soon… And if you’re on a tight schedule, skip to the last ten minutes.

Every time I listen to this scripture quoted, I get a little misty-eyed…

“Behold my Beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased, in whom I have glorified my name — hear ye him.” (3 Nephi 11:7)

Afterwards we talked about the two major groups in the movie:

The Believers and the Unbelievers.

I asked the kids how they could believe in Christ when they have never seen Him.

One of them just looked at me and said, “I just know. And I’ll always know.”

There were others who I got the feeling didn’t quite believe, but wanted to believe.

I told them there would come a time, when the testimony of others would not be good enough. None of us can rely on someone else to keep us afloat. At some point we must develop and nourish our own faith. Once we do, it will not matter if the entire world fell apart, our faith would remain, because it is ours.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 04 2010
Tweets that mention the testaments. « Justified by the Scriptures -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kyle Aldous. Kyle Aldous said: taught seminary this morning and just updated the blog… 'the testaments' http://wp.me/pShSD-24 […]

14 04 2010
KIeth Merrill

Het Kyle,
As the writer and director of The Testaments, I was delighted by you comments. It is interesting that I was invited the last two weeks to talk to two seminary classes about working with President Hinckley and President Faust in making the film for the church. Needless to say it was a great highlight.
Thanks again for your kind comments and for making an effort to spread the Gospel and awareness of the church through your web site.
Kiethn

14 04 2010
kylekealohaaldous

Bro. Merrill,

What an honor to hear from you! I have to say just one more thing about your movie. My brother is in the class and he mentioned later that was the first time he felt the spirit so strongly that he actually recognized it. Several of the other students today again mentioned how much they enjoyed the movie. I would love to ask you a few questions so that I could do a follow-up post here about you and your experience making the film. My email is kkaldous@gmail.com If you have a spare moment shoot me an email and I’ll reply with some questions. Thank you for your comment and once again for producing such a wonderful film that invites the spirit each time it is played.

Kyle Aldous

Leave a Reply

