think and grow rich.

10 04 2010

The other day I was talking with Leah and she threw all of my Gladwell books into the self-help category!

Hhmmm…. Questionable!

Well, if she threw those books into the self-help group, then she’d certainly throw this book into that group — “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill.

To be fair, this book is actually much closer to self-help than my Gladwell or Freakonomics books.

I came across this while I was laying out on the deck today (working on my tan).

“All through the ages, religious leaders have admonished struggling humanity to ‘have faith’ in this, that and the other dogma or creed, but they have failed to tell people HOW to have faith. They have not stated that faith is a state of mind, and that it may be induced by self-suggestion.”

Think about the last time you were in church, at some point during that 3-hour block someone must have mentioned faith. Typically “faith” is the go-to answer during Sunday school.

“…faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.” (Alma 32:21)

Hhmm, good definition — but where is the HOW?

“…if ye will awake and arouse your faculties, even to an experiment upon my words, and exercise a particle of faith, yea, even if ye can no more than desire to believe, let this desire work in you…” (Alma 32:27)

A little better… but not great.

“Self-suggestion” is what the book suggests. Repeating a thought monthly, weekly, daily.

“The mind comes, finally, to take on the nature of the influences that dominate it.” (Think and Grow Rich)

I read this book several years ago but didn’t really take in a lot of what I read. I got a really positive feeling today as I was reading (it could have been the fact that I was out working on my tan…) but maybe it was something more!

Expect more posts to come exploring this idea…

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2010
Tweets that mention think and grow rich. « Justified by the Scriptures -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kyle Aldous. Kyle Aldous said: Updated blog. Influenced by 'Think and Grow Rich' reading… http://wp.me/pShSD-1F […]

Leave a Reply

