failure.

6 04 2010

One of the reasons I wanted to get into grad school was to become a teacher. I love teaching and I love my seminary kids. I feel like I can do a lot of good as a teacher.

Maybe I was wrong.

After finding out I didn’t get into grad school, I found out one of my kids just moved in with her boyfriend. She’s 17. Her boyfriend is 19, still in high school and works at Wal-Mart. (not that there is anything wrong with that) But he got accepted into Shepherd University and has decided against it now. The place she lives is filled with drugs.

She deserves better.

All of those kids deserve better. In fact all kids deserve better.

“Remember the worth of souls is great in the sight of God.” (D&C 18:10)

I know I wasn’t her full-time teacher. Blah blah. But could I have said or done something different that could have helped her?

Did I fail?

Ugh, I don’t want to hear any of the crap about free agency… I know everyone can choose, but maybe I could have altered the choice if

Maybe not getting into grad school was just another sign meant to let me know that teaching just isn’t my thing…

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2010
Roxanne

You know it is true what you said about free agency, any can choose what they do and maybe you could have done something to change what happen. But the shoulda, woulda, couldas, don’t do any good and things are what they are.

But I will share this with you I was known for getting mixed up in the wrong crowds and the wrong people. But I had 2 church leaders (one being Brother Britten) and also one seminary teacher who told me this:

“No matter what and that no matter when, even if it is 3 in the morning 5 years from now. If you find yourself somewhere and you don’t know who to call or what to do, I want you to call me and I will get there as quick as possible and if I can’t get I will at least get you out of where ever you are. No questions asked”

(Not all in the exact same words but you get the point)

Just having this said to me helped me a lot. Knowing that someone would be there (that wasn’t my parents) really helped. And yes a few years later I called one of them and they followed through and it helped me find my feet all over again. So maybe there is still something you can do. Just don’t expect to save anyone they have to let themselves be saved or saved themselves.

15 04 2010
kylekealohaaldous

You’re so right — Heavenly Father usually puts certain people in our lives at different times to help us get through things. And yeah, people have to allow themselves to be helped, or it will never work out… good to hear from you Roxanne! hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

