online hatin’.

19 08 2010

My Dr. Pepper contest entry is top 4!

I’ve put other clips of me dancing on YouTube – much better clips of me. Those videos have like 100 views.

My Dr. Pepper video is just over 100,000 with like 150 comments.

Obviously I’ve kept a close eye on the things being said about my video.

It’s not pretty.
I’ve heard celebrities talk about how they try to avoid listening to what the tabloids say – and now I understand why. (Not that I am even remotely close to being a celebrity of any kind)

But when you read the good comments you begin to think, yeah I must be pretty good. And when you read the bad comments (which by the way, there are ALOT) you begin to feel like you possess no talent at all.

It’s a very interesting dynamic (love/hate).

Someone posted on my buddy’s YouTube channel that we need to forget dancing and go to school and get degrees!
Haha

Here’s the problem with this whole online world of commenting. The comments are based solely on what you SEE in a short clip.

By the way @todoutah I have a degree and a job, thank you very much!

Here is a short letter to everyone hatin’ on the video…

Dear haters,

Thanks for watching the video (even though you didn’t like it). And thanks or taking the time to jot down your opinion about the video (even though it was negative). I’d like to clear the air about a couple of things;

First: Yes, I am not a professional bboy. This means that dancing has taken a backseat to my FULL TIME job and my future wife, and my church, and golf (which I’ve recently become very into).

Second: Yes, there are plenty of other bboys out there who can smoke me. (I’ve accepted it and have moved on) Bboy Keebz would dominate me, I know. But thanks for pointing out the VERY obvious.

Third: I did one big move in the video, BUT that does not mean it’s the only move I know. (Watch another video)

Fourth: The entry was last minute and was prompted by a friend, so I have not been holding my breath as I seek approval from all of you (even though your approval would be awesome, thanks! hahaha)

Umm, yeah that’s it. I wanted to just throw all of this out there. It made me feel better. Thanks!

Sincerely,

bboy justified.

I think I’m going to take to heart more seriously the counsel given in the movie Bambi – if you don’ have anything nice to say then don’t say anything at all…

“For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.” (Matthew 7:2)

? What do you do if you don’t have something nice to say to someone?

Actions

Information

One response

20 08 2010
Angela

2 things:

I used to write an email and then save as a draft but then later realized I didn’t need to vent the bad feelings there…

Could be that I’m a girl?

Later I learned that just talking them out with a friend/husband helped. Venting to an actual person was WAY better than an email that would be deleted.

You just gotta breath and walk away…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

